Scotch Single Malt Whisky Regions

Scotch malt whiskies tend to be grouped within a number of regional categories for historical reasons, style and characteristics.

Scotland was traditionally divided into four regions: The Highlands, Lowland, Islay, and Campbeltown.

Speyside, encompassing the Spey river valley in north-east Scotland, once considered part of the Highlands. It has almost half of the total number of distilleries in Scotland within its geographic boundaries; consequently it is officially recognized as a distinct region.

The Islands is not recognised as a region by the Scotch Whisky Association and is considered part of the Highlands region.

In our website we will follow the six region grouping.

1. Campbeltown;
2. The Highlands;
3. Islay;
4. The Lowlands;
5. Speyside;
6. The Islands